CITRIS UCSC Researchers


The laboratory of Professor Manel Camps studies the biological consequences of random changes in genetic information (mutations). The main approaches include directed evolution, i.e. the generation of random mutant libraries coupled with specific selections or screens for new biological activities and also a variety of bioinformatics and statistical approaches for the study of mutational signatures (as indicators of distinct sources of mutations) and for the identification and quantification of patterns of co-occurrence or mutual exclusion between mutations or genes undergoing specific selective pressures (as indicators of functional overlap).





Dr. Alan Christy is an Associate Professor of History at the University of California, Santa Cruz. His publications include Ethnographies of the Self: Japanese Native Ethnology, 1910-1945 (forthcoming), a translation of Amino Yoshihiko’s Rethinking Japanese History (forthcoming) and essays on modern Okinawan history and war memory in Japan. He teaches courses on Japanese and East Asian history, Okinawa, and historiography and memory. Christy holds a Ph.D from the University of Chicago.





Dr. Abhishek Halder is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Applied Mathematics at UCSC. His research areas are control theory, machine learning, and optimization with application focus on large scale cyber-physical systems such as smart grid and unmanned aerial vehicle traffic management. He obtained his Ph.D. from Texas A&M University, and Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur, in Aerospace Engineering. At UCSC, he teaches courses on Convex Optimization, Applied Optimal Control, and Nonlinear Control Theory.






Dr. Darrell D. E. Long is Distinguished Professor of Engineering at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He holds the Kumar Malavalli Endowed Chair of Storage Systems Research and is Director of the Storage Systems Research Center.  He has authored highly cited research papers on web caching, distributed file systems, power-aware hard disk management in mobile computing, and low-bandwidth multicast techniques for video on demand, among other topics. Dr. Long received his B.S. Degree in Computer Science from San Diego State University, and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of California, San Diego. In 2006, he was elevated to Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) “for contributions to storage systems architecture and performance.”  In 2008, he was inducted a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society, the Association for Computing Machinery, the American Society for Engineering Education, the Usenix Association, Upsilon Pi Epsilon and Sigma Xi.



Professor Warren Sack is a software designer and media theorist whose work explores theories and designs for online public space and public discussion. He is Chair and Professor in the Film and Digital Media Department at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He teaches Digital Arts and Digital Studies to Undergraduates, MFA, and PhD students.  His artwork has been exhibited at SFMoMA, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Walker Art Center, and the ZKM. He has a B.A. from Yale College and a PhD from the MIT Media Lab.  He has been a visiting professor in France at Sciences Po, the FMSH and Télécom ParisTech.  His new book from MIT Press is titled The Software Arts




Prof. Schmidt is the Narinder Singh Kapany Chair of Optoelectronics and the Associate Dean for Research for the School of Engineering at UC Santa Cruz. He is Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and directs the Applied Optics Research group ( and the W.M. Keck Nanofabriaction Facility. He has authored or coauthored over 380 publications and several book chapters in various field of optics. He is co-editor of the CRC Press’ Handbook of Optofluidics. Dr. Schmidt is a member the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, and Senior Member of the IEEE. He is a member of the California Institute for Quantitative Biomedical Research (QB3), the Center for Biomolecular Science and Engineering (CBSE), and the Storage Systems Research Center (SSRC). He directs the W.M. Keck Center for Nanoscale Optofluidics at UC Santa Cruz. He was elected Fellow of the Optical Society of America in 2014 and Fellow of the IEEE in 2017. He received the Engineering Achievement Award from the IEEE Photonics Society for development of optofluidic waveguide technology in 2019.